Fabulous in Fifth Grade

Live. Love. Teach.

Dear student

Leave a comment

I found this online, and can’t take credit for it, but it absolutely deserves a repost. Love it!

 

Dear Student,

Resistance is futile. I am your personal, designated brick wall. 

If you write “111” as the answer for half the math assignment, I will tell you that I only send students to recess who have done their best on the assignment…and I WILL check. If you miss every single question on the science quiz because you’re unhappy that you moved your number because of that inappropriate gesture in line, then I will calmly reply, “You know, I give science tests over and over and over and over again to students until they miss no more than 5.” I wasn’t really surprised that a student who could get every question wrong when they wanted could also ace the test when they tried. You were only 1 of 3 to receive 100%, by the way.

But most of all, my dear student, I wish I could whisper this truth into your soul: You really should let me win, because when I win, so do you.

So, tomorrow is Monday, dear student, and I’m prepared to communicate to you once again that resistance is futile. You may not know it, but I’m fighting for you.

Love,

Your Teacher

Author: Mandy B

I'm a twenty-something trying to make my way in the world. I'm married to the man of my dreams, and enjoy every day we spend together. I'm a girly girl- I LOVE the color pink, glitter, shoes, and purses. My friends and family mean the world to me. I'm an insatiable traveler, and a 5th grade teacher.

Leave a Reply

